Making it work!

IMG_0535Ever think that if it wasn’t for bad luck you’d have no luck at all?  That is me, just when I think its ok to relax and take a breath something always happens to remind me not to get too comfortable. Don’t get me wrong, I know how blessed I am to be alive, to have the people in my life that I do and the things I have been able to provide for my family; however it always feels like a struggle, and I am very thankful I don’t have to face the struggle alone.
When I met my husband our lives were very different from the way they are now. Looking back it seems like a lifetime ago, neither one of us was looking for anything serious, but isn’t that always the way life goes. When we met ( in a bar and that is a story for another time) We both knew what we wanted and what we didn’t want in a partner, which appears to be the clarity you gain during a divorce. The relationship that started out just as fun, moved quickly into much more, we moved in together and a few months later on Valentine’s Day he asked me to be his wife. IMG_0543We started to make plans for our future, but then life threw us something we never saw coming and soon our plans were as shattered as my spine.
My husband and I have been together for 16 years, married for 7. Our relationship has been far from easy or perfect, and if I believed it was supposed to be either of those things I would have given up a long time ago. Marriage is work. It’s a combination or amazing and WTF moments, supportive hugs and conversations, fights with words you wish you could take back but you can’t, because that’s life, we live with the consequences of our actions.

After my accident I decided to build a better future for myself and my family. I refused to be a victim, believing in a powerful truth, ” if you don’t like your life, change it!” So I did, well more accurately,  we did.

I really thought when I started school to become a Social Worker I would be able to achieve some stability.  I knew I wouldn’t be rich, but I thought I would find a good job, make a decent living , pay my bills, maybe even buy a house someday that is actually built for me. We truly believed that we would eventually have a “normal life”, but our life has been far from normal. Ive been looking for work for 6 weeks and I know what I’m good at and where I belong but getting a recruiter to see that is a different story. When I’m discouraged, like I have been lately I have a hard time believing in myself and seeing past the chair. Which is when I am most thankful for his support and ability to remind me that no matter what, we will make it work because we always have .

IMG_0540Now, if my hubby sounds like a saint, trust me he is not, but he is a United States Marine Corp Veteran and if you have had the honor to know one you understand what I mean when I say ” they are like no other men I have ever met!” Marines don’t run from a challenge they adapt, improvise and overcomeIMG_0537 so when he makes a commitment he stands by it, and if he says “we will make it work”, we do.

I can always trust that he has my back so when I left my last job without having one lined up, he wasn’t thrilled but I knew we would be able to make it work.
I have learned an important lesson in my life and that is that every challenge can be faced but when you attack those challenges with the support of someone you love and that loves you, success is possible!  I know we will be successful some day, until then we will simply be making it work!

Leave a comment